[ASC-list] Astronomy communication award - nominations open

Helen Sim Helen.Sim at csiro.au
Wed Feb 11 00:23:26 UTC 2009


Dr Tanya Hill, ASA Prizes and Awards Coordinator

03 9392 4503

thill at museum.vic.gov.au



Entries are now open for the David Allen Prize, awarded by the  
Astronomical Society of Australia (ASA) for exceptional achievement  
in astronomy communication.
“The David Allen Prize rewards those who work hard to explain the  
amazing stories of astronomical discovery and who share their  
knowledge with the wider public” says ASA President, Professor  
Warrick Couch. “I encourage all interested astronomers, science  
communicators, journalists, documentary makers and academics to enter  
and show the important role they play in building an understanding of  
astronomy amongst the public.”

The Prize is particularly important in 2009, as the world celebrates  
the International Year of Astronomy and 400 years since Galileo first  
turned a telescope to the sky.

Previous winners of the David Allen Prize are: Australia’s most  
experienced astro-journalist Jonathan Nally (2001) and Professor Fred  
Watson (2003), Astronomer-in-Charge at the Anglo-Australia Telescope  
and highly-renowned author and guest speaker.
The International Year of Astronomy aims to reconnect people with the  
night sky and highlights the contributions astronomy has made to our  
society and culture.

“Throughout history astronomy has been responsible for some of the  
most significant changes to the course of humanity and the way we see  
ourselves” said Nally. “But it’s not enough for scientists to make  
their breakthroughs and increase their own knowledge. Those  
breakthroughs must be shared with the wider world.”

The Prize is named in honour of David Allen, who was a highly  
innovative and prolific astronomer. He was among the founding group  
of astronomers at the Anglo-Australian Observatory and worked there  
from 1975 until his untimely death in 1994, at the age of 47. He was  
the winner of the 1993 Eureka Prize for the Promotion of Science.

In 2009, the judging panel for the David Allen Prize includes  
Jonathan Nally and Dr Graham Phillips, astrophysicist and Presenter  
of ABC TV’s Catalyst. Closing date for nominations is 23 March 2009  
and entry details can be found at: asa.astronomy.org.au/DAP

The Prize consists of a plaque together with an award of $5,000.  
Presentation of the Prize will occur at the Annual Scientific Meeting  
of the ASA to be held in Melbourne in July 2009.

Helen Sim
Public Relations and Media Liaison
CSIRO Australia Telescope National Facility (email: Helen.Sim at csiro.au)
Anglo-Australian Observatory (email: hsim at aao.gov.au)

Single Point of Contact (SPOC) in Australia for the 2009  
International Year of Astronomy

Tel: +61-2-9372-4251
Mob: +61-419-635-905

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://www.lists.sublimeip.com/pipermail/asc-list/attachments/20090211/b4570bf5/attachment.htm>

More information about the ASC-list mailing list