[ASC-list] Derek Tribe Award for Distinguished Agricultural Research

Cathy Reade creade at squirrel.com.au
Wed Mar 25 01:05:06 UTC 2009

ASC Members may know senior agricultural researchers in developing countries
who will be eligible for the Crawford Fund's Derek Tribe Award, given in
recognition of their distinguished contributions to the application of
research in agriculture or natural resource management. If so, could you
please forward the info below.
Cathy Reade
Crawford Fund
0413 575 934

The Crawford Fund is an Australian NGO that works to increase Australians'
engagement in international agricultural research, development and education
for the benefit of developing countries and Australia. 

The Derek Tribe Award is made biennially to a citizen of a developing
country in recognition of their distinguished contributions to the
application of research in agriculture or natural resource management in a
developing country or countries.

The recipient will attend a seminar, or other public event, nominated by The
Crawford Fund, to receive the award and to deliver "The Crawford Fund Derek
Tribe Award Address". A media effort is associated with the visit.

In addition, the recipient will undertake a visit of about two weeks to
agricultural centres in Australia with the intention of enhancing networking
and linkages between the recipient's home institution and country with
similar bodies and individuals in Australia.

Nominations close on 1 May. Further information and nomination forms may be
downloaded from http://www.crawfordfund.org/awards/dtaward.htm

The inaugural Derek Tribe Award was made in 2001 to Dr Sanjaya Rajaram, a
researcher in the wheat breeding program at the International Maize and
Wheat Improvement Center (CIMMYT) in Mexico for his outstanding
contributions and leadership in the breeding of bread wheats. 

The recipient of the 2003 Award was Dr Luis Salazar, Head of the Plant
Protection Department, International Potato Center (CIP), Lima, Peru whose
contributions include the development and implementation of virus clean-up
technology for sweet potato. 

In 2005, the winner of the Award was Professor Vo-Tong Xuan, Angiang
University, Angiang, Vietnam for his personal and practical contribution to
the restoration and improvement of rice production in the Mekong Delta after
the Vietnam War and the Cambodian Pol Pot era. 

In 2007, Dr Ismail Çakmak, Professor at Sabanci University, Istanbul, Turkey
was the recipient for his outstanding work and leadership in identifying
zinc deficiency as the underlying cause of poor wheat yields in the
calcareous soils of the Anatolian region in Turkey.

More information about the ASC-list mailing list