[ASC-list] Australia's Visionary Innovators to be Announced

Cathy Reade creade at squirrel.com.au
Thu May 13 23:16:05 UTC 2010




14 May 2010


The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE)


ATSE is an independent body of eminent Australian engineers and scientists
which promotes technology, science and engineering for a better Australia 





Winners of the prestigious 2010 ATSE Clunies Ross Awards for excellence in
the application of science and technology will be announced at a gala dinner
on Wednesday 19 May in Melbourne. Advance/embargoed notice is available.


Winners' areas of endeavour include science, communications,
health/medicine, nuclear science, microelectronics and mining.


The dinner will be addressed by Professor Alan Trounson, world-renowned IVF
pioneer and stem cell biologist, who is now heading the world's wealthiest
embryonic stem cell research group in the US. His address is titled
"Creativity in Biomedicine and Conversion to Benefits."


The Awards recognise Australia's pre-eminent scientists and technologists
who have bridged the gap between research and the marketplace and are
awarded to people who have persisted with their ideas, often against the
odds, to the point that their innovations are making a real difference to
the economic, social or environmental benefit of Australia. 


ATSE Clunies Ross Award Winners for 2010 follow in the footsteps of past
winners such as Dr Fiona Wood, inventor of spray-on skin; Professor Ian
Frazer, inventor of the cervical cancer vaccine; Professor Graeme Clark,
inventor of the bionic ear, and Nobel laureate Dr Barry Marshall, who
discovered the bacteria that causes stomach ulcers.


On Thursday 20 May, the winners will join more than 300 Year 10 students and
their teachers in lively discussions and challenging action-based hands-on
workshop sessions based on the winners' areas of expertise. This free
one-day seminar to stimulate students' interest in science as a career - The
Extreme Science Experience - will be hosted by Bernie Hobbs, award-winning
science writer and broadcaster.




-  ATSE Clunies Ross Award Winners, from a range of Australian States and
differing areas of endeavour (for print/broadcast on 20 May). Embargoed
information available now.


-  Professor Robin Batterham, ATSE President.


-  Dr Andrew Trouson, world-renowned IVF pioneer and stem cell biologist.


-  Dr Alan Finkel, neuroscientist, Chancellor of Monash University and a
previous ATSE Clunies Ross winner.


-  Mr Bruce Kean Chairman, ATSE Clunies Ross Foundation.


PICTORIAL OPPORTUNITIES BY ARRANGEMENT: Award winners prior to the awards on
19 May or with science students in hands-on experiments/activities at
Extreme Science Experience, 20 May at Melbourne Town Hall from 10am-3.30pm.




Issued by The Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering


For further information/interviews contact:


Cathy Reade, Media Liaison, 0413 575 934 creade at squirrel.com.au or   

Bill Mackey, Communications Director ATSE 0418 923 370
<mailto:bill.mackey at atse.org.au> bill.mackey at atse.org.au


Websites   www.atse.org.au www.cluniesross.org.au  www.extremescience.com.au



The ATSE wishes to thank the following for their support:

The Victorian Government, Department of Education and Early Childhood
Development, The University of Melbourne, Monash University, The University
of New South Wales Malcolm Chaikin Foundation, CSIRO, Deakin University, La
Trobe University, Linfox, MMG, RMIT University, Downer Edi and Resmed


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://www.lists.sublimeip.com/pipermail/asc-list/attachments/20100514/e454220d/attachment.htm>

More information about the ASC-list mailing list