[ASC-list] Free ANZAAS talk, Melbourne, Wed 16 Aug 6:30pm; Dr Sasha Wilson, plus presentation of 2017 ANZAAS Medal

David Vaux vaux at wehi.edu.au
Mon Aug 7 23:38:59 UTC 2017

Science Talk, MELBOURNE
All welcome, free, bring your friends!
Free refreshments after the talk
  After Dr Wilson’s talk, the 2017 ANZAAS Medal will be presented to Professor Tom Spurling AM

At GTAC, in the grounds of University High School, corner Royal Parade and Story Street, Parkville (enter off Story Street or Royal Parade)

 Wednesday 16th August 2017, 6:30 pm


Dr Sasha Wilson

 Senior Lecturer and ARC DECRA Fellow, Monash University

  Can we tailor how mined landscapes evolve to sequester metals and greenhouse gases?

Mined landscapes are hotspots for geochemical reactions. Although the mineral wastes associated with mining have long been thought of as a liability, their reactivity gives them enormous potential to be harnessed as resource. The wastes produced by some mines naturally react with atmospheric carbon dioxide to trap this greenhouse gas as well as hazardous metals. These contaminants become trapped within minerals that are so benign they are commonly used as antacids and bath salts.  Our laboratory and field experiments demonstrate that the chemistry and biology of industrial landscapes such as these can be managed in way that not only minimises contamination but also provides a surplus environmental benefit.

Dr Siobhan A. (Sasha) Wilson is a low-temperature geochemist who specialises in environmental mineralogy. She uses crystal chemistry and isotope geochemistry to study bio-geochemical element cycling and environmental change at planetary surfaces. She is also interested in astrobiological exploration, understanding the origins and mechanisms of biomineralisation, and making the mining process more sustainable.
Since 1965, the ANZAAS Medal has been awarded annually for services in the advancement of science or administration and organisation of scientific activities, or the teaching of science throughout Australia and New Zealand, and in contributions to science which lie beyond normal professional activities. Past winners include Herbert Cole Coombs, Gus Nossal, and Ken Harvey. The 2017 ANZAAS Medal will be presented to Professor Tom Spurling AM.
Forthcoming Talks
Wed 20th Sept   A/Prof Andrew Elefanty   Stem cells

Wed 18th Oct    Dr Justin Boddey  New drugs for malaria

We are pleased to acknowledge the support by CSL and GTAC for the ANZAAS Melbourne science talks series, and to Carly Siebentritt and CSIRO for the medal presentation during National Science Week

Further Info:         David Vaux       9345 2941                davidlaurencevaux at gmail.com<mailto:davidlaurencevaux at gmail.com>


-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://www.lists.sublimeip.com/pipermail/asc-list/attachments/20170807/aa447931/attachment.htm>

More information about the ASC-list mailing list