[ASC-list] The first science journalism awards in Australia

Toss Gascoigne director at tossgascoigne.com.au
Tue Jul 9 05:56:53 UTC 2019

It’s the 35th anniversary of the awarding of the first science journalism awards in Australia, the Michael Daley Awards.  

With some difficulty, I tracked down the inaugural winner:

"The inaugural Michael Daley Award for excellence in science and technology reporting was won by ABC-TV producer David Parer for his two
part documentary 'Antarctic Man', on the effect of Antarctic conditions on the human body.
The panel commended highly Jane Ford, science correspondent for The Australian and publisher of the science and technology newsletter,
SciTech, and Robyn Williams, producer-presenter of the ABC radio program 'The Science Show’.

Robyn Williams in only third place?  Must have been a high class field!  This from the Canberra Times, 1984.  (Thanks to the NLA’s Trove website for listing this.)

The Daley Awards were subsequently rolled into the Eurekas, to be presented next week.  Daley was an extraordinary journalist with ABC Radio, ABC TV, the SMH. (More details at: http://adb.anu.edu.au/biography/daley-michael-joseph-12393)

Toss Gascoigne
Toss Gascoigne and Associates
56 Vasey Cres

Visiting Fellow, College of Science, Australian National University

P. 02 6249 7400
M. 0408 704 442
E. director at tossgascoigne.com.au
W. tossgascoigne.com.au
Skype. tossgascoigne
Twitter: @tossgas

ABN:  31 068 557 522

-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://www.lists.sublimeip.com/pipermail/asc-list/attachments/20190709/405f1236/attachment.htm>

More information about the ASC-list mailing list